Click to home
RSSEmail this urlPrint page
Go To Search
EMS Education and Training
EMS Provider Levels
To determine the specific responsibilities of EMTs and paramedics, the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) registers emergency medical service (EMS) providers at four levels. For information on how to register and enroll in classes, visit EMS Enrollment and Class Schedule.

First Responders
These providers are trained to provide basic emergency medical care because they tend to be the first persons to arrive at the scene of an incident. Many firefighters, police officers, and other emergency workers have this level of training.

EMT - Basic
EMT - Basic represents the first component of the Emergency Medical Technician System. An EMT is trained to care for patients at the scene of an accident and while transporting patients by ambulance to the hospital under medical direction. The EMT has the emergency skills to assess a patient’s condition and manage respiratory, cardiac, and trauma emergencies.

EMT - Intermediate
These providers have more advanced training that allows the administration of intravenous fluids, the use of manual defibrillator's to give lifesaving shocks to a stopped heart, and the application of advanced airway techniques and equipment to assist patients experiencing respiratory emergencies.

Paramedics provide the most extensive pre-hospital care. In addition to carrying out the procedures already described, paramedics may administer drugs orally and intravenously, interpret electrocardiograms (EKGs), perform endotracheal intubation, and use monitors and other complex equipment.

Finney County
311 N. Ninth St. | Garden City, Kansas 67846 | Ph. (620) 272-3500 | Fx. (620) 272-3599
Contact Us | Accessibility | Copyright Notice | Powered by CivicPlus